diaryofafatamerican

how I gave up a lifetime of sugar

17 Days and Counting

leave a comment »

 

I like to see Americans moving their asses, don’t you? And now I’m one of them!
copyright Getty Images Inc.

It’s been 17 days since I gave up white sugar. It’s been 17 days since I joined a gym and nearly 2 weeks of walking on the treadmill, 30-45 mins per day, at 2.5 to 2.8 mph. I got my heart rate up to 118 today. At about 25 mins any pain I have goes away (I have minimal pain, btw). I do have a left foot problem from weight and type 2 diabetes. But I work through it by slowing down a bit. The key is not how fast or hard you walk, but how consistent you are when walking. Just keep doing it, 6 days out of every 7. And NO sugar makes the physical reward instant for me. I don’t dread going to the gym. I plug in my iPhone and go. I walk to the Indigo Girls and Vince Gill’s “These Days.” It makes all the difference. And I don’t try to run marathons. I just go at a reasonable pace that I can keep up for 45 minutes.

I’ve lost about 15 lbs in 2 weeks. I’m down about 30 lbs in the past 4-5 weeks. Some of that weight loss was due to having insanely high blood sugar. I knew something was wrong when I was down 10 lbs and hadn’t stopped eating Milano double chocolate cookies and peppermint patties.

I am not interested in junk food right now. I made it through the first 14 days, that helps a lot towards changing the lifestyle. I am living in the moment. How do I feel at this moment? I feel good. I feel better than I have in years. I move better. I’m not consumed with “I need to lose weight” 24/7 and I my anxiety level is much better because I’m not having to constantly deal with 1) pain and 2) worrying about every place I go and whether it will be comfortable.

All those little things really creep into your life and make it hard to enjoy your life. “What if this restaurant has tiny chairs and no aisle room?” “What if I have to walk too far from the car to …wherever?” The worst is traveling on an airplane or train. That’s another blog for another time.

Written by Bacce B

July 29, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

